Torn between two cameras! Help appreciated for this total newbie!

Comments

• rbrylawskirbrylawski Posts: 222Member
    Congratulations on making a decision! I don't really agree with the post above about avoiding kit lenses. I started off almost 10 years ago with the 18 - 105 and while I did eventually sell it, it was a great first lens. You could certainly do a lot worse, that's for sure. Adding the 35mm F1.8 prime would be a great beginning for you.

As I mentioned yesterday camera bags may look great online, but if they don't offer room for expansion/growth, you'll be replacing it. I've had 3 bags in 3 years, so I didn't take my own advice. What I do agree with in the post above is to go try out some bags. Go to Best Buy if you have one near you. They have a decent selection of bags to choose from.

Again, congrats on a great choice in systems. You'll be very pleased with the D7100 for sure.
    Nikon D7100; AF-S DX 35mm f1.8; AF-S DX Macro 40mm f2.8; AF-S DX 18-200mm VRII; SB-700 Speed Light and a bunch of other not very noteworthy stuff......
  • skyeyes70skyeyes70 Posts: 66Member
    Woot! Woot!!! Doing the happy dance!!! I did it! I bought the D7100!!! I got the 18-105 and it came with MeFOTO BackPacker Tripod - after shipping, that was $1363.

Teehee!! Can't wait until it gets here! \:D/
    learning DSLR with D7100 18-105mm and 35mm F/1.8. I also love my little Nikon Coolpix AW100!
    flickr.com/photos/115637741@N02/
    imagesbypam.tumblr.com/ and driveby-shooting.tumblr.com/
  • MsmotoMsmoto Posts: 5,398Moderator
    Bags…..as personal as our handbags. If there is any way to go to a store and try one out, this is best IMO. Almost every bag I have I can find a way to improve it. And, while the cost may be higher for some, I think getting a bag with good strap padding, the best possible construction, and high quality zippers is essential.

Here are some I would suggest as possibles: