How to photograph illustrations in a book?

snakebunksnakebunk Posts: 993Member
edited February 2014 in General Discussions
I am 95% a bird photographer and I have no experience in studio work, I haven't even used a flash (almost). Now I am about to photograph illustrations in a book.
I think my 150/2.8 lense will work (it is the shortest I have), but I really don't know anything about how to light up the book pages. Do you have any recommendations?
Post edited by snakebunk on

Comments

• MsmotoMsmoto Posts: 5,398Moderator
    Here is one idea for copying photos… a start

http://www.rideau-info.com/photos/genealogy-copying.html

The trick is to avoid reflections, light the image evenly, and of course capture at the highest quality with bracketing the exposure. I have copied photos using north light from a window and a large white reflector on the side of the original opposite the light source.
    Msmoto, mod
  • WestEndBoyWestEndBoy Posts: 1,456Member
    You will get superior results with a hundred dollar scanner.
  • IronheartIronheart Posts: 3,017Moderator
    edited February 2014
    +1 jshickele
    The hardest part is getting the paper to lay flat and get the camera perfectly perpendicular to the paper, otherwise you will get distortion. A scanner solves both of these issues. Not to mention lighting without shadows, etc... Oh, and a D800 owner will want to argue this, but scanners have much higher resolution (esp as the paper gets larger)
    Post edited by Ironheart on
  • WestEndBoyWestEndBoy Posts: 1,456Member
    Yeah, some books it may be very difficult too. But a scanner is the first thing I would try.
  • snakebunksnakebunk Posts: 993Member
    Great input, thank you! I never thought of using a scanner. Also like the idea of using the sun light, but I guess it's hard to get similair light on all the photos (there are about 300 pages that are of interest).
  • ThomasHortonThomasHorton Posts: 323Member