What to shoot?

snorbosnorbo Posts: 28Member
edited February 2014 in Nikon DSLR cameras
I recently purchased a Nikon D7100 and a 18-140 mm f3.5-5.6 DX VR lens. I also have a Sony A77 with a 50 mm f 1.8, 18-55 mm f 3.5-5.6 and a
55 - 200 mm f 4 - 5.6 lenses. I have a speed-light for the Sony but not the Nikon. I have tripods and remotes for both cameras and good camera bags as well. I have some spare time and thought it would be nice to get some good photos but being -23C here im at a loss as to what i can take pictures of and i need the practice as im just getting started (and really enjoying this hobby). I have very active children in dance, indoor sports and concerts but have been struggling to take good shots due to the challenges of low light situations and being a fair long distance from my subjects. I have a camera store that lets me (borrow/buy and bring back with no questions asked for 14 days anything they have). So that being said i have been thinking about some macro photography and indoor sports photography as i can try the lenses. Considering what i have and my potential photo settings is there some recommendations for lenses and subjects to shoot on boring cold days.
Nikon D7100 (Gone), Sony A77, 18-140 mm f3.5-5.6, 50 mm f1.8, 18 - 55 mm f3.5 - 5.6, 55 - 200 mm f4 - 5.6, Lowpro bags, tripods and speedlights..cleaning assories ect.

Comments

• ElvisheferElvishefer Posts: 329Member
    My winter photography this year is mostly of food in a studio setting, with an occasional jaunt in the cold for wintery landscapes. I always do less photography in the winter.
    D700, 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII, 24-70mm f/2.8, 14-24mm f/2.8, 50mm f/1.4G, 200mm f/4 Micro, 105mm f/2.8 VRII Micro, 35mm f/1.8, 2xSB900, 1xSB910, R1C1, RRS Support...

... And no time to use them.
  • snorbosnorbo Posts: 28Member
    Thanks for the comment. Does one need a macro lens for that or am i fine with what i have?