Nikon D610 or D7100

kiekiekiekie Posts: 9Member
edited March 2014 in Nikon DSLR cameras
I am 17 and looking in to a new camera I have the nikon d5100 but im wanting something new now and looking to go in to photojournalism and i am studying photography in college

Comments

• framerframer Posts: 491Member
    I'd get the 24 - 70 f2.8 lens (used) and a used D2h or D2hs. The reasoning is buy good FX glass that can serve you for years to come. The D2h is a great camera for photojournalism. Super fast but fallen out of favor by people that never used it. You can get a real good used one under $500, I've seen then go in the mid $300 range. A 17-35mm f2.8 lens is also a great choice. When you are ready and can afford it get a used D3 or D3s.

Money spent of good glass is money well spent. In 5 years you might be able to get a small profit out of it. Bodies are almost considered throw away items after 3-4 years as some chase the latest and greatest. Buy the castoffs and save money. If your situation dictates the needs for the greatest, newest, and best to compete then buy what's needed.

framer
  • heartyfisherheartyfisher Posts: 3,186Member
    budget? what lenses do you currently have?
    Moments of Light - D610 D7K S5pro 70-200f4 18-200 150f2.8 12-24 18-70 35-70f2.8 : C&C very welcome!
    Being a photographer is a lot like being a Christian: Some people look at you funny but do not see the amazing beauty all around them - heartyfisher.

• PistnbrokePistnbroke Posts: 2,444Member
    edited March 2014
    Most colleges suggest a camera and have a store of many for you to use ..so what does your tutor say...some courses you must have a specific camera...??? A D600 will make a lot more shutter noise than a D7100 but probably for photo journalism FX is the way to go but not some old junk D2 a D3 at least and buy good glass
    Post edited by Pistnbroke on
  • framerframer Posts: 491Member
    Junk D2??? Really...

framer
  • sevencrossingsevencrossing Posts: 2,800Member