Hiring model for fashion catalogue photoshoot

BlckcatBlckcat Posts: 12Member
edited April 2014 in General Discussions
Hi, I need help from some good experienced model photographers. How does your process of hiring model go? Do you interview them before actual photo-shoot? Where do you meet for the interview? Do you make them come to your place? I'm not hiring for full time, but part time. I may use same model once a month or may be just once. So in this case, how would you do the process? This is my second time hiring a model, but first one was someone who I knew. I was not able to find details like this on Google, so I'm asking this here. Thank you as always :)
Post edited by Blckcat on

Comments

• MikeGunterMikeGunter Posts: 543Member
    Hi all,

@ Blckcat - Yes, before.

It depends on who is doing the hiring and how many you are hiring and what the details are.

When I was a freelancer for advertising (and we were chiseling the images on stone tablets), we would either do interviews at the ad agency or hire a conference room at a hotel or business center - usually less than $100 a day (a lot less - $40-60).

Ten - fifteen minutes each and took their composites. I usually had the Account Executive and Art Director and Copy Writer as well as a Client representative there, too. You don't want someone to 'nix' choices after the fact.

If you don't have much experience, and they don't have much experience, relax and have fun, but know what you need to accomplish and work your details out long before you start. Preparation is going to be key for a successful shoot.

Congratulations on the catalog! Those were the big bucks jobs for me in the day!

My best,

Mike
  • proudgeekproudgeek Posts: 1,422Member
    I've been a copywriter for 23 years. The next time I get input on a model will be the first time :)
  • ElvisheferElvishefer Posts: 329Member
    http://www.modelmayhem.com/ might be a good resource for you.