D700 to D800 or wait for the D800s?

MsmotoMsmoto Posts: 5,398Moderator
edited April 2014 in D6x0/D7x0/D8x0
A new member asked a question in the intro thread and I think it may bring a lot of opinions to light, so:

Hello All,

I have been a Nikon hobbyist for over 30 years now, starting out with the FM-2. Looking to upgrade my D700 to a D800 with the latest updates, but it seems like Nikon thrives on suspense. I have been navigating through the internets to find more information on the upcoming D800 and came upon this site, so I have been lurking for a few weeks, learning much, seems like to be a fun group, I figured now is a good time to officially join in and begin adding to this site.

Also attempting to decipher whether to dump money and complete the Nikon Holy Trinity, or really jump into it and get the 200 f2.0, as it appears that lens is an excellent lens. There is some urgency to all of this as I am going to be flying from East Coast US to West Coast US to Washington State, and taking 2 weeks to drive back to the East Coast, so I definitely need to have my photo needs situated by beginning of June 2014. Equipment I currently have is in my signature.

Best,
Frank

D700, FM-2, 24-70mm f/2.8G ED, 105mm f/2.8G VR Micro, 24mm f/2.8 AIS, SB-900, SB-24, PB-4 Bellows
Post edited by Msmoto on
Msmoto, mod

Comments

• MsmotoMsmoto Posts: 5,398Moderator
    edited April 2014
    Oh, my comment on this… I would wait for the new D800….
    As to a short tele, SquamishPhoto is one of the best at this shooting wide open a lot of the time and may share his experience.
    What lenses one obtains is based upon the desire or need which is determined by the subject matter. The 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII is super, or if one wants to go longer the 300mm f/2.8….
    Wide….14-24mm f/2.8, or even the 16-35mm f/4VR (I have this and love it)
    Post edited by Msmoto on
    Msmoto, mod
  • mikepmikep Posts: 280Member
    edited April 2014
    coincidence!