Sigma APO MACRO 180mm F2.8 EX DG OS HSM Macro Lens - Quick Review

HvalHval Posts: 110Member
edited July 2014 in Gear Reviews
Good afternoon All. I said I would buy the above lens and I have. I received it Friday. I had a quick play around with it in the store and have had a quick play around with it today. Am I glad I bought the lens? So far - yes; definitely yes.

Please remember that I am an enthusiastic amateur and not a professional photographer. I am not formally trained and have taught myself all I know (which isn't much). I have been taking photographs, on and off since the 1970s, when given my first camera a Kodak Instamatic. Since then I have used film cameras (my favourite being my Canon T90), developed film, moved in to digital cameras (have owned approximately 15 to 20 of them).

This is going to be a brief review of the lens after such a short time using it. I shall, hopefully, add further details in the future. I shall also add photographs to my Lens review set as I go along. Please note that the lens has not been calibrated for the cameras used. Also I did not use a remote release to take the photos, but they were taken from a tripod

So, are we sitting comfortably? Then let us begin.

I have read a number of reviews about this lens, and spoken with one or two people who have actually used it in anger. The comments in this review, unless otherwise stated, are my own opinions. I am not going to provide many technical details that can be obtained from other web sites.

The packaging gives great initial impressions. The lens comes with a two part hood. It can be used with both parts together or either part alone. Having written that, one part is really an extension for the real hood. Unfortunately I haven't yet found a way of storing the extension in the lens bag with the lens/ hood.