Super Telephoto Lens Conversation

Comments

• MsmotoMsmoto Posts: 5,398Moderator
    edited November 2014
    I have found all the discussion on super telephotos interesting. And, have learned the hard way that sometimes I can hand hold a long lens, other times the end results are not up to my standards. However, I look at all the info from nikon and others as suggestions only, and in my usual push the envelope style will see how handholding the 400/2.8 with a 2x teleconverter goes…. maybe even this weekend….

This was handheld as the eagle took off before I could actually get set up…
    NRF_Hampton_V_03.29.14-18

Not perfect, but better than nothing…..and this was at the NRF get-together in Maine earlier this year….
    Post edited by Msmoto on
    Msmoto, mod
  • rmprmp Posts: 586Member
    Has anyone tried a telescope with a Nikon mount? I am considering renting a telescope for a trip to Mona kea in Hawaii and I have zero experience with a telescope. I seem to remember that a 2000 to 2400 mm lens will cause the moon to fill the frame. Is that correct?
    Robert M. Poston: D4, D810, V3, 14-24 F2.8, 24-70 f2.8, 70-200 f2.8, 80-400, 105 macro.
  • dissentdissent Posts: 1,342Member
    ... dontt you think its up for an update soon?? the 300 f4 + DX camera seems like a very nice setup for birding if we had better AF and VR. What would be nice is if D7200 came with an updated 300 F4 VR !! esp the tc1.4iii provides better AF.
    Well, there may be an update coming ... but I'm not sorry I didn't wait for it. YMMV. I heard somewhere recently that someone at Nikon USA was saying there was for sure going to be some Nikon DX lens love coming out in 2015. Maybe they'd throw in an updated 300/4 at that time. Anyone good at reading tea leaves?

- Ian . . . [D7000, D7100; Nikon glass: 35 f1.8, 85 f1.8, 70-300 VR, 105 f2.8 VR, 12-24 f4; 16-85 VR, 300 f4D, 14E-II TC, SB-400, SB-700 . . . and still plenty of ignorance]
  • manhattanboymanhattanboy Posts: 1,003Member