Dx mode vs real DX?

Comments

• squoopsquoop Posts: 37Member
    edited February 2015
    @WestEndFoto - If there's no difference in light efficiency for DX vs FX in crop mode (given the only difference being the sensor size)... then I still don't see how, given the same scenario, the DX portion of an FX sensor will beat a DX sensor for dynamic range either. On the other hand, I'm no camera engineer - so I'll just take your word for it. Thanks again, Susan
    Post edited by squoop on
  • tcole1983tcole1983 Posts: 981Member
    edited February 2015
    So would an image that you took at full resolution on an FX and cropped to the same dimensions as the dx crop mode look exactly like the one taken in dx crop mode? Is the camera just using a digital zoom (which has been around for a long time) or is is actually just using a smaller part of the sensor? I think there might be some difference there. Wouldn't you actually have better ISO capabilities if the camera used the whole sensor and cropped than if you just used a smaller portion of the sensor making it similar to a dx sensor?

Also I still have 24 MP on my DX compared to the 12 or less for the FX...how does the ISO and dynamic range compare then? I guess what confuses me is that there isn't an actual crop in the dx sensor is there? The whole sensor is being used isn't it..the sensor is just smaller, correct? It just gathers a smaller portion of the image than the larger FX sensor. There is no real "cropping" being done.
    Post edited by tcole1983 on
    D5200, D5000, S31, 18-55 VR, 17-55 F2.8, 35 F1.8G, 105 F2.8 VR, 300 F4 AF-S (Previously owned 18-200 VRI, Tokina 12-24 F4 II)
  • sevencrossingsevencrossing Posts: 2,800Member
    edited February 2015
    The sensor in the DX camera and the sensor in cropped Fx camera, will be different. The processor may also be different

so you cannot directly compare the two