Why promote Grey Market deals?

stephens7stephens7 Posts: 9Member
edited November 2015 in Nikon DSLR cameras
Maybe it's me but I fail to understand the promotion of grey market Nikon deals on this and many other sites.

Sure, one might save a couple of hundred bucks but the the fact is Nikon USA will NEVER fix a Grey item regardless of whether it's a warranty or a non-warranty PAID repair.

They will flat out refuse and send the item back-It's their corporate policy.

Moreover, they are restricting the supply of parts to 3rd party repair stations so if you do send it to another repair place it might sit there for a long time until they source the parts overseas.

So, what, in the end does one save by buying grey???

BTW- I am an independent photographer, long time Nikon user and I have no affiliation with Nikon.

In fact, I disagree with their policy, but it is what it is.

Caveat Emptor
Post edited by stephens7 on
Tagged:

Comments

• spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,545Moderator
    I guess the temptation is there for those of us with champagne taste but beer budgets! :D

I do feel sorry for those who have no idea what they are buying and get stuffed by a bad dealer though as happened to a new member of this forum recently. One could always trot out the standard comments like 'caveat emptor' or 'if it looks to good to be true it probably is', but innocent, naive people are regularly caught and that is bad.
    Always learning.
  • donaldejosedonaldejose Posts: 3,675Member
    I agree. Stop promoting grey market deals on the main blog.
  • tcole1983tcole1983 Posts: 981Member
    I haven't ever thought about grey market...I do love refurbished though! I however go through great length including calling people to make sure I am buying what I think I am buying.
    D5200, D5000, S31, 18-55 VR, 17-55 F2.8, 35 F1.8G, 105 F2.8 VR, 300 F4 AF-S (Previously owned 18-200 VRI, Tokina 12-24 F4 II)
  • IronheartIronheart Posts: 3,017Moderator