E type vs G type vs Tamron: What's the Difference

MrFotoFoolMrFotoFool Posts: 353Member
I am new to Nikon (and NikonRumors) after 20 years with Canon. (I could not find a thread on this topic). I am using a D850 and two E type lenses, but want an ultra wide angle (zoom or not). What exactly is the difference between G type and E type lenses? Also, is the Tamron 15-30 f2.8 G2 equivalent to a Nikon G or E type? I assume so because it appears to not have an aperture ring?

Comments

• PistnbrokePistnbroke Posts: 2,443Member
    Well G stands for Gelded which means they removed the aperture ring and E means electronically actuated Aperture . Just be aware in case you upgrade that some of the Tamron lenses will not work with the Z series.
    Personally I just use a Samyang 14 mm .. a manual focus lens ..I just tape it up at 7ft and crop when necessary its so sharp. ( and cheap)
  • PB_PMPB_PM Posts: 4,494Member
    edited July 2019
    Tamron, Tokina and Sigma’s lenses are all ‘G’ type at this point, other than some older models that are ‘D’ type, but I don’t think any of those are available new anymore. The D850 has the motor to drive D lenses anyway, so even if you were to get one it would work assuming there are no firmware issues; not a problem with Nikon lenses, only third party.
    Post edited by PB_PM on
    If I take a good photo it's not my camera's fault.
  • WestEndFotoWestEndFoto Posts: 3,742Member
    edited July 2019
    I have pre-AIS, AIS, D type, G type and E type. The last three are auto-focus and the farther to the right in my list, the better they tend to focus. Also, if you by a Z camera, the D type will become manual focus.

There are other minor differences. For example, the faster bodies tend to have a hire frame rate (FPS) with E type.

That said, I would not fret it about it. Buy Gs or Es and consider yourself done on this topic so you can focus on taking great pictures.
    Post edited by WestEndFoto on