Please help!!

reneepreneep Posts: 2Member
edited October 2014 in Nikon DSLR cameras
Hello!
I am a jewelry designer and I'm looking to take pictures of models with the jewelry on and of closeups of the jewelry. I minored in photography, but that was back in the dark room, enlarger realm. :)

I received a Nikon D700 as a gift (hell of a gift!) but WAY too much camera for me. I have two kids so I have to work quickly and I need something that is going to take very decent pictures on an auto setting (I'll be using natural light) and a macro lens and something where I can do self-portraits. (remote shutter release)

I love the D90 but I cant spend it. What do you think will take great pics outside on auto setting and also what macro lens would go with it along with a remote shutter release?

Thank you thank you thank you in advance for your time and any assistance!!
Tagged:

Comments

• tcole1983tcole1983 Posts: 981Member
    edited October 2014
    The 105 f2.8 macro would be perfect for the models with jewelry and close up of the jewelry. Will do 1:1. I love mine for portraits. If you want some easy the new d3300 or d5200 or 5300 are all great. But lens and any body is going to run you $1000+. I say use the d700 and get a macro lens.

I am on my phone so can't really post the pictures but I took some jewelry shots at the wedding I just photographed and they were some of my favorites. D5000 and 105 f2.8.
    Post edited by tcole1983 on
    D5200, D5000, S31, 18-55 VR, 17-55 F2.8, 35 F1.8G, 105 F2.8 VR, 300 F4 AF-S (Previously owned 18-200 VRI, Tokina 12-24 F4 II)
  • manhattanboymanhattanboy Posts: 1,003Member
    This is just impossible to answer/give advice for. It's just far too broad and unlikely to help all that much. If the photos are important I suggest that you either hire a photographer or hire someone to advise you while you have a hand at it; otherwise, your photos are unlikely to leave you very pleased with the results.
    Follow this advice.