ahh I think ive been spoiled.

sleipnirsleipnir Posts: 7Member
edited December 2014 in Nikon DSLR cameras
Just wanted to say this site has been an amazing resource for learning for me over the years,

So I started to get into photography in 2010 because of my career path.
My first body was a d40 and I used the kit zoom lens 15-55 I think and a 70-300 telephoto.
Boy did I love it!!! My first dslr, I used it for a few months before I upgraded to a d90.

Went from a d90 to a d300 and then to a d300s and still using the same kit and telephoto lens.

Upgraded my glass to a 24-70 2.8 and the 70-200 2.8 and used the d300s.

Then I made the big upgrade from a d300s to the d3s and ended up selling both my zoom lenses and
Switched to two primes, a nikon 300 2.8 vrII and the sigma 35 1.4 art lens. It's all I've been using for last two years
And I've been looking at some smaller packages when it's not convenient to lug around the d3s+.

So from a spoiled point of view would I be happy with any of the following;

Sony rx100
Nikoncoolpix a
Fuji x100(s)(t)

I'm leaning toward the nikon coolpix a considering you can get a bran new one used off kijiji
For the low 400's. Even the older fuji100 seem to go for over 600 here in Canada.

Does anyone have experience with these smaller camera's and the big ones that can give me their two cents?

Comments

• WestEndFotoWestEndFoto Posts: 3,742Member
    I have both the Coolpix A and a D800. The Coolpix A's sensor is roughly equivalent to the sensor on the D7000.

The most important thing about the Coolpix A (and least appreciated) is the lens. The camera is worth $750 for the lens alone, which is a 28mm FX equivalent and probably better than the 28 1.8G optically, though a bit slower.