First DSLR...New D7000 or Refurb D7100?

rasto21585rasto21585 Posts: 6Member
edited January 2015 in Nikon DSLR cameras
I initially was thinking of getting an entry level camera like the d3300, but was worried that I would outgrow it quickly. I now have set my sights on the d7000. At Best Buy it is being sold with the 18-140 lens for $629. My only concern is that since this is an older model, this camera might be a little outdated. I have also noticed that a refurbished d7100 is being sold at Adrorama for $699. Although this is only for the body. Is this something I should consider or is the d7000 a good camera to start out with? How is the 18-140 lens? Should this be a factor in helping decide which camera to get?

Also I've read a lot about auto focusing issues with the d7000. Since I'm a novice, would it be apparent out of the box to me that I have one of the poor models? How do I go about testing this issue?

Comments

• ggbutcherggbutcher Posts: 392Member
    I bought one of the Amazon D7000 bodies for $484 to replace a D50; quite happy with it so far. I was waiting out the impending D7200 announcement to get a discounted D7100, but I decided the D7000 did what I needed for a too-good-to-pass-up price. My take on refurb: a DSLR is an intensely mechanical device, and you don't know how many shutter actuations it has accrued. I do failure analysis for a living, and I want to know the expected service life of devices like this. Others may disagree, but that's my predisposition.

AF fine tune isn't that hard to do, is more a fact of life than a particular problem with the D7000...
  • rasto21585rasto21585 Posts: 6Member
    Thank you so much for the advice. This has been really helpful. By any chance have you had any experience with the 18-140 lens?
  • manhattanboymanhattanboy Posts: 1,003Member
    @rasto21585
    I've owned both. This is an easy choice: the 7100 refurb for sure.