Lightroom challenges...

KillerbobKillerbob Posts: 732Member
edited January 2015 in General Discussions
I am currently using Aperture and am very happy with it. However to be fair to Adobe, I am giving Lightroom a try-out. I have a Creative Cloud subscription so it makes sense if I could switch.

Lightroom is different though, and a few things simply are showstoppers... The biggest one being "scrambled" previews:

I have my files on a ReadyNAS, connected to my nMP via Ethernet. Hence I import folders with reference. I have tried a bunch of folders at the same time, and I have tried one at a time, but nonetheless I often have scrambled preview files. I open a folder and the photos are displayed as thumbnails, and often one or a few pf them are scrambled. There is no better word to describe it; part of the photo is simply not there. It is often the first file in a folder, and there is nothing I can do to refresh the photo. I can remove it, and then search for changes, and it is found, but often just as bad the second time it is imported. I have tried using Smart Previews, but alas...

Anyone who can shine some light on this problem?

Comments

• HammieHammie Posts: 258Member
    Can you provide a screen shot of what you see?

Did you use the Aperture to Lightroom migration tool that Adobe made available? I do not know all the details of the tool, but read about it in a Mac Forum.
  • sevencrossingsevencrossing Posts: 2,800Member
    edited January 2015
    when you "import" I assume your are the photos are added catalogue without moving them from the ReadyNAS

could you try copying one folder to the C drive to see it the issue in the Ethernet

where do you keep your catalogue ?

you might try victoria's

http://www.lightroomqueen.com/shop/adobe-lightroom-5-the-missing-faq/#sthash.nSEUJWRw.dpuf
    Post edited by sevencrossing on
  • KillerbobKillerbob Posts: 732Member
    edited January 2015