Nikon 70-200 F4 vs F2.8 , anyone tested ?

Comments

• JJ_SOJJ_SO Posts: 1,158Member
    edited February 2013
    @PB_PM: What gives you the idea, photozone had a collar to test it? I don't see it, neither on D7000 nor on D3 - and usually the picture shows, what they tested.
    @Msmoto: I'm not an optical engineer, but you're comparing pears and apples - or maybe not and I'm wrong. Both zoom lenses are IF, the 135/2 is not (at least it looks that way to me. Focal length, as we see it engraved on photo lenses, very simplified is the distance from film/sensor surface to the top peak of the front lens when focussed to infinity. If you shoot objects closer, the front lens is moved forward on the 135/2, which means, the closer you get, the longer is the actual focal length.
    The zoom's front lenses are not moving which leads me to the idea, the closer you get, the shorter focal length will become.
    Maybe I'm wrong. But anyway, I don't mind the absolute focal length as long as I get the picture I want. And the advantages of IF - stable lens tube, no moving parts outside, easier to be sealed against dust and water are more worth to me than identical focal lengths on different lens constructions.
    Post edited by JJ_SO on
  • PB_PMPB_PM Posts: 4,494Member
    edited February 2013
    Umm look at the second picture on the first page of the review.
    Post edited by PB_PM on
    If I take a good photo it's not my camera's fault.
  • pippigurlpippigurl Posts: 241Member
    As an FYI the 70-200 f4 collar made by Vella that B&H is selling for around $60US does not fit the barrel of the lens. It is too large and will not hold the lens securely. Might save you some frustration.
    @PB_PM: Thanks for mentioning that picture, I didn't scroll down :\"> . To me it's more a product illustration than a sure proof, he did test the lens with it. Maybe Markus is gonna reply my question in his forum.