"card error" message

mcknight41mcknight41 Posts: 4Member
edited December 2014 in D6x0/D7x0/D8x0
I have been using my D600 for two years without any problems until this weekend. I had two 64 GB cards in the camera one PNY and the other Delkin. After taking about 150 pictures I got an error message "card error" and the camera would not take another picture. I remover the first memory and after 15 more shots I got the same message again. I turned the camera off and inserted both memories and took a few more pictures without getting the message. When I downloaded the files the last batch of images were missing! Right now the camera seems to be operating normally. I was taking pictures out doors the temp was about 40 deg. F. What happened?

Comments

• prototypeprototype Posts: 11Member
    Did you double check the little lock tabs on your SD cards? If they were bumped slightly to the locked/write protected position that might be causing your problem.

Also try formatting both cards, and see if the problem repeats itself.
  • mcknight41mcknight41 Posts: 4Member
    I always format cards when inserting them into the camera. I checked the tabs a couple of days after the fact. It's possible they had moved, but I doubt it.
  • NSXTypeRNSXTypeR Posts: 2,286Member
    edited December 2014
    You may want to try some recovery software. I've had this happen to me once, the file naming system went berserk once on one of my older cameras. I was able to view one set of photos on the camera, but a completely different set on the computer. I got pissed off and tried deleting some of the files and immediately canceling that action. I was able to recover some of the files.

This was with a Kingston SD card a long time ago.

Do you set your SD cards on dual backup or overflow? If you have dual backup shouldn't one copy be on the other SD card?
    Post edited by NSXTypeR on
    Nikon D7000/ Nikon D40/ Nikon FM2/ 18-135 AF-S/ 35mm 1.8 AF-S/ 105mm Macro AF-S/ 50mm 1.2 AI-S