Hairline scratch on mirror

N1konDN1konD Posts: 3Member
edited October 2015 in D6x0/D7x0/D8x0
Hi, I'm new to this forum however I've been shooting for the last 4 years. Last March of this year I bit the bullet and bought a Nikon D810. It is my pride and joy. I love this camera!!! Ever since I got it, I've been using it quite extensively. So fast forward to last week. After using it for a landscape shot, I went ahead with my usual routine of cleaning out my camera using the rocket blower before placing it in my camera bag. While I was cleaning I noticed that huge piece of mirror in it and was admiring the engineering design of this magnificent camera. That's when I noticed something. Right about the bottom part of the mirror there's this (I'd estimate) 1.5cm long hairline scratch on the mirror. It's sitting about 0.5cm above from the bottom. And the pattern is like this: -- ----- -- --- --. It's not a solid, heavy scratch. It's just a really light micro-fiber hairlike scratch. I can't say that I caused the damage to it as I've been very careful ever since I got it. I also don't know if that scratch had been there before and just didn't noticed it. You won't really see it facing down. You have to put it in an angle against a light source to see it.