What is your job?

tcole1983tcole1983 Posts: 981Member
edited May 2016 in Fun & Weird
This is pretty far off topic, but curious what kinds of jobs people have or had and if you liked it or not. Share if you want.

I am a geologist and although I enjoyed school, real world jobs are nothing like school and I have found it difficult to enjoy my work. Lots of travel and overnights to non-glamorous places. Pay has been sub-par and usually hard work. Anything from lots of physical labor to sitting at a computer for weeks frying my brain over data sets or reports. I haven't works in natural resources which is where I would probably liked to be, but jobs are so volatile in that sector...like oil.

I am 10+ years into my career and I just can't think I can sustain it for another 20-30 years without it killing me mentally and physically.

*Note I am not a lazy person. I frequently work 10 or 12 hour days, at night and on weekends.*

Anyone else?
Post edited by tcole1983 on
D5200, D5000, S31, 18-55 VR, 17-55 F2.8, 35 F1.8G, 105 F2.8 VR, 300 F4 AF-S (Previously owned 18-200 VRI, Tokina 12-24 F4 II)

Comments

• ggbutcherggbutcher Posts: 390Member
    Engineer. The software variety. Has enabled me to work a variety of projects from power plants to missiles, upon which I currently work. Contrary to popular belief (including by a lot of engineers) engineering is 20% tech and 80% facilitating human communication. It's the latter that enables us to build large, complex things that no one person could build themselves. When I realized that, work actually became fun.