Best way to spend $2k in 2018

Hello all, I am new here, but have lurked for almost 2 years. I am in need of some advice. I have some available funds and am looking to step up my photography (both in terms of skills and gear). I am not a pro but take lots of family pictures, I have 2 young daughters as well as a family farm that I take pictures of. I have been asked by a few friends to do some shoots but nothing serious... Yet. I have been playing with the idea of potentially stepping into more paying gigs, but feel I need to get a little more polished.

Anyway, I have a d750, 70-200 vr1, 24-70g, 85 1.8, 50 1.4. What are your opinions as to where I need to upgrade? Options:
-used d810s are going for ~$1700 on eBay in good shape which is very tempting
-the 70-200 vr2 has also come down in price
-save my money and buy a d850 next year
-save my money and buy a 70-200e next year

My question comes down to, is the d810 enough of an upgrade over the d750 to upgrade? Is the vr2 enough of an upgrade over the vr1 to upgrade? (I know the corners are a little soft in the vr1 but I don't like the focus breathing of the vr2) is something better right around the corner that will drive d810 prices down further? I think we're getting to the leveling off point following the drop in price after the 850 came out. Finally, should I just save up to really pay big bucks to move to a d850 and 24-70vr + 70-200e fl ($10k).

Thanks in advance, elo

Comments

• spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,545Moderator
    @eloverton2 welcome to NR.

One thing is for sure - this is a gear focused site and its members will always spend your money freely!

In my humble opinion, the gear you have is going to take great shots of the subjects you mentioned which you will be able to blow up to 20 x 16 with no problem. If it doesn't, it isn't your gears fault...
    Always learning.
  • heartyfisherheartyfisher Posts: 3,186Member
    edited January 2018
    Welcome to NR!