Medium Digital Format

1235»

Comments

• retreadretread Posts: 574Member
    I like my D500 for things that move fast and the D7200 for those that don't. I am no expert but feel there is a difference.
  • spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,545Moderator
    I can actually see a difference in detail on the wings of my butterfly shots so that means I will not go backwards. The results I get with a 24mp DX are good enough so I am not holding out for a 30 mp DX, I do think 24 is just enough.
    Always learning.
  • NSXTypeRNSXTypeR Posts: 2,286Member
    While I understand medium format has a certain look to it, I don't understand why people would still go for it in this day and age. Full frame DSLRs and mirrorless are so much more flexible with much more lens choices that for the price of even a medium format digital body you could buy a D850 with a few lenses and get started right away with what you wanted to shoot.
    Nikon D7000/ Nikon D40/ Nikon FM2/ 18-135 AF-S/ 35mm 1.8 AF-S/ 105mm Macro AF-S/ 50mm 1.2 AI-S
  • WestEndFotoWestEndFoto Posts: 3,742Member
    You can achieve medium format IQ with FX, especially if the medium format is full frame like Phase One, not cropped like Pentax, Hasselblad or Fuji.
  • NSXTypeRNSXTypeR Posts: 2,286Member

You can achieve medium format IQ with FX, especially if the medium format is full frame like Phase One, not cropped like Pentax, Hasselblad or Fuji.

That's what I'm trying to say, I think you can do more with FX DSLRs rather than medium format digital.
    Nikon D7000/ Nikon D40/ Nikon FM2/ 18-135 AF-S/ 35mm 1.8 AF-S/ 105mm Macro AF-S/ 50mm 1.2 AI-S
    Actually, that was a typo. My mistake, sorry. What I meant to say is that FX cannot achieve the quality of medium format. Note that I am talking pure IQ, not ergonomics, where Nikon and Canon reign supreme.