Z7-Z6 Lenses

Comments

• rmprmp Posts: 586Member
    I am looking forward to any test of image quality between the f4 and f2.8 24-to-70 lenses. Thanks for sharing.
    Robert M. Poston: D4, D810, V3, 14-24 F2.8, 24-70 f2.8, 70-200 f2.8, 80-400, 105 macro.
  • spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,545Moderator
    Symphotic said:

If I do this test again I will use glossy paper instead of luster, so my dots will come out more circular. I made about the smaller dots I could: periods with a font size of 5.

I made an image on my laptop with tiny white dots on a black background and got really bright white dots which seemed to work well.
    Always learning.
  • BVSBVS Posts: 440Member

Spraynpray, any thoughts on the coma performance of the z lenses?

It seems to me that although I have no actual knowledge of the Z lenses, coma and the astigmatisms are best in lenses with little glass in them so I doubt that the Z's will be any better than the F's.

Camera Labs has coma test shots from all the Z lenses. Basically, the 24-70/4 S is a little better than the 2.8 E at the wide end, and a little worse at the long end. The 50/1.8 S is about the same as the Zeiss Otus 55/1.4. The 35/1.8 S is a little better than the Zeiss Otus 28/1.4.

The coma tests are about 2/3 to 3/4 of the way down the pages in the "Rendering of point-light sources at night-shots" sections:

https://cameralabs.com/nikon-z-24-70mm-f4s-review/2/

https://cameralabs.com/nikon-z-35mm-f1-8s-review/2/

https://cameralabs.com/nikon-z-50mm-f1-8s-review/2/

D7100, 85 1.8G, 50 1.8G, 35 1.8G DX, Tokina 12-28 F4, 18-140, 55-200 VR DX
  • WestEndFotoWestEndFoto Posts: 3,742Member
    edited February 2019
    Wow, as good as the Otus lenses at a quarter the price and less than half the weight. And auto-focus is thrown in for free! Impressive.
    Post edited by WestEndFoto on
  • donaldejosedonaldejose Posts: 3,675Member