Wait for Z8 or switch to A7R4

Good morning,

I searched the threads and didn't find any suitable for my question, but please correct my if I made a mistake!

I'm a Nikon guy, love the menue, handling, lenses and the IQ. But after Sony released their A7R4 I can't wait for such a camera from Nikon. The last news about a Z8 /Hi-MP camera from Nikon is from september.
I'm new in the photo-community and don't know, when the manufacturers present their gear. A9 and Z50 weren't at big events, just a press release or so.
So any guesses when the Z8 will be released? I need a camera, everywhere I go, I see great motives.
I'm considering 1. renting a A7R4, but it's expensive and I get no money back when I buy Nikon.
2. renting the A7R4, buy a new one, when I saved enough money and get 50% rebate on the rent price (from gearflix.com).
Or 3. buy a cheap APS-C camera and sell it again when I got the Z8 (or how it will be called).

The, IMO, mind-boggling AF (I was kinda shocked, the first time I used the AF) from Sony can spoil the bad handling, the bad software and the, IMO, cheap feeling of camera and lenses.

I'm tending to option 2. Any tips from you?

Greetings from germany
Daniel :)
Tagged:

Comments

• WestEndFotoWestEndFoto Posts: 3,742Member
    edited November 2019
    If you are shooting any brand, be it Sony, Canon or Nikon, I would not switch brands for a camera. What are you shooting now in terms of bodies and lenses?
    Post edited by WestEndFoto on
  • mhedgesmhedges Posts: 2,881Member
    I think we need to know a little more about what kind of photography you do. Landscape? Fashion? Action?
  • donaldejosedonaldejose Posts: 3,675Member
    I think the NIkon body you want will be released in 2020. Who immediate is your need? Can you wait six to eight months?
  • snakebunksnakebunk Posts: 993Member