I'm new to this. Nikon D5200?

isewcuteisewcute Posts: 15Member
edited January 2013 in Nikon DSLR cameras
Hi everyone,
I'm very much into art, music, and sewing. I am now wanting to get into photography. My friend owns a lighting company and does lighting for bands, festivals, and weddings. I am wanting to purchase a camera that I can use to take photos at his gigs. The plan is to make a few extra bucks to use for school and my spending habits. I was looking into purchasing the Nikon D5200. I like that this model has a movable screen, which I think will have to be a must for concert photos. I don't know much about photography, so I am looking into books and reading online as much as I can. I also see I need a camera with a high ISO setting. If anyone has any input as to which lenses, accessories, or models I should look into it would be much appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to read this,
Connie

Comments

• isewcuteisewcute Posts: 15Member
    I was looking to spend $1,000 to $1,500. I don't mind spending more, however, I'm just starting out and don't know how deep in I will get into it.
  • PB_PMPB_PM Posts: 4,494Member
    The D5200 might be a good choice. The first lesson in photography is to spend more on lenses than cameras.
    If I take a good photo it's not my camera's fault.
  • soapsoap Posts: 28Member
    There are not any good hard numbers available yet from what I've seen in regards to the 5200's ISO performance. Nikon has stressed that the 5200 sensor is not the same as the 3200 sensor, and allows higher ISOs. The 5100, 3200, 7000, and even 3100 all have pretty similar ISO performance (with the 3100 being slightly behind). IF Nikon's claims are true the 5200 would be the best performing (ISO wise) DX camera available.

The 5200 gets the 7000's meter and AF system (as opposed to the lesser ones in the 5100) which is another mark in its favor.