NPS repairs and "impact damage" claims

ssadyssady Posts: 1Member
edited October 2013 in Nikon DSLR cameras
Hi all, I've been a pro shooter for over 20 years, photojournalist mostly, been freelance and corporate since 2007. Been shooting digital since the first incredibly heavy nikon-kodak DCS cameras cameras came out around 1998. Always Nikon. Anyhow in the last two years I have noticed that pretty much every single repair I have sent in to NPS, whether under warranty or not, comes back with the impact damage claim regardless of the actual problem. I just sent a 24 - 70 in that I know for a fact has never had even the slightest impact, and even wrote on the order form, don't try to claim impact damage because it has never happened. The problem was for the rubber coming off the focusing ring, and to check on a chronic (since I bought the lens) softness in the bottom left corner. This lens is well under warranty. Guess what? Impact damage - $600 to fix. I have been on the phone with nikon support the last week. Supposedly I got my issue resolved and it was being repaired, then it wasn't being repaired and I got another bill. So today I did some searching. Within 30 minutes I found 100's of posts by professional shooters (many from the sportsshooter forum) claiming the same thing. They send their body or lens in for X or Z and it always comes back impact damage. I called some friends who are DP's at various size papers and handle their equipment pool, and one of them says in 10 years he has never NOT had the impact damage claim. My question is, what is your experience as a group and if this is chronic, has anyone tried to call them out yet? This kinda seems like a scam to me. I was party to a class-action lawsuit against google for over-charging on their ad-words service (we won) and this seems no different.

Comments

• Vipmediastar_JZVipmediastar_JZ Posts: 1,708Member
    When i had the D300 i had to send it in about 4 times to finally get it fixed.