Recommendation of lenses to go with D610

churinchurin Posts: 51Member
edited December 2013 in General Discussions
I am relatively new to DSLR and am going to get D610. Initially I want to get a prime lens and a zoom lens. Presently I am considering 85mm f/1.8G and 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR or 24-120mm f/4G ED VR. Any suggestions or comments are appreciated.

Comments

• WestEndBoyWestEndBoy Posts: 1,456Member
    edited December 2013
    Welcome to Nikon Rumours Churin.

What kinds of subjects do you shoot? If you ask anybody this question and they answer without asking, "What kinds of subjects do you shoot?", ignore their answer.

Jeff
    Post edited by WestEndBoy on
  • PhotobugPhotobug Posts: 5,751Member
    Those are two good choices for the D610. But/however...we got to understand what subject matter you shoot or normally shoot. Then we can help with better recommendations.
    D750 & D7100 | 24-70 F2.8 G AF-S ED, 70-200 F2.8 AF VR, TC-14E III, TC-1.7EII, 35 F2 AF D, 50mm F1.8G, 105mm G AF-S VR | Backup & Wife's Gear: D5500 & Sony HX50V | 18-140 AF-S ED VR DX, 55-300 AF-S G VR DX |
    |SB-800, Amaran Halo LED Ring light | MB-D16 grip| Gitzo GT3541 + RRS BH-55LR, Gitzo GM2942 + Sirui L-10 | RRS gear | Lowepro, ThinkTank, & Hoodman gear | BosStrap | Vello Freewave Plus wireless Remote, Leica Lens Cleaning Cloth |
  • roombarobotroombarobot Posts: 201Member

From what I read there were too many compromises in the 29-300mm, so I opted for the 24-120mm myself and have added a couple primes as I could and the 70-300mm for tele use.

But, like Jeff and Photobug said, it is all about what you want to do.
  • ChasCSChasCS Posts: 309Member
    edited December 2013
    Hi churin,
    Welcome to the Forum.
    I haven't any experience with the the AF-S 28-300mm. I've have read good things about the 85mm that you mentioned.