Upgrading Advice - DX to FX

jjb930jjb930 Posts: 80Member
edited March 2014 in Nikon DSLR cameras
Hello,

I've been using the site for a few months to keep up to date on Nikon products and to develop ideas for upgrading my Nikon D5100. I am finally getting to the point where I feel that I can justify the upgrade (i.e., in terms of use and knowledge); however, I would appreciate advice from experienced members on the best course of action I should take.

Generally speaking, my photography generally consists of:
#1 macro (insects, science,etc)
#2 landscapes
#3 long-exposure night photography (i.e., stars)
#4 some wildlife (i.e., birds, deer, etc).
With this upgrade, I also want the ability to dabble in portraits/weddings. This is not my priority, but something that I could build up over time.

In addition to my D5100, I have the current gear:
Glass:
Nikon 50mm 1.8 AF-S
Tamron 90mm 2.8 Macro
Nikon 70-300mm VR f4-5.6 AF-S
Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6

Accessories:
Kenko Extension Tubes for Macro
Nikon SB-700 Flash

My plan:
Camera:
The hardest decision to make and where I could use the most feedback. I know the D610 is probably the best choice in terms of quality/cost ratio. It is a great camera that could probably handle everything I throw at it.

However, I am also agonizing over how the D800 is particularly well suited for macro and landscape photography. I like how the large sensor allows for flexible cropping options and that it also has more focus points. Because the D800 excels at my two primary shooting approaches, I am starting to believe I should go with it instead of the D610.

Lenses: