Tell me about this new D810 for deep space photography

124»

Comments

• SWRSWR Posts: 5Member
    I'm a newbie in astrophoto and think the idea behind the D810A is very nice indeed and very usable. You don't need a two-ton telescope on a massive concrete foundation to make nice pictures. I've bought a relatively low cost chinese mass-production telescope (Celestron CGEM DX 1100 EdgeHD) and put it on a two ton concrete foundation I had previously used for a flag pole.

The optics are very nice and quite versatile, but the problem with these cheap chinese mass production models is that they don't have time to do a careful finish on the internals of the mount. You can buy a very nice quality mount where all this is done perfectly from the factory, but they are not exactly cheap, and on top of this there is often a waiting list for the most popular models.

If you don't mind tinkering a bit, you can mitigate these short comings your self. :)
    I bought a Hypertune kit from Deep Space Products that had all necessary items and a very detailed video instruction on how to perform the upgrade. You basically disassemble the mount and polish the internal bearing surfaces to a high quality mirror type surface finish, and spend some time on carefully aligning all gears using supplied teflon washers from the kit. The result is a mechanically much smoother mount that is much easier to balance.

I've bought two lense accessories for the OTA: a 0,7x reducer and a Hyperstar that can replace the secondary mirror. With these two adapter lenses i can get the following three configurations:
    2800mm/f10 which is suitable for solar system planets.
    1960mm/f7 which is suitable for small deep sky objects.
    560mm/f2 which is very fast and suitable for wide field deep sky objects.

Anything below 800mm is more or less considered wide-field in astro photo circles. :)