D610 "fEE" error, camera or lens??

cloudmncloudmn Posts: 14Member
Hello- I am new here and trying to find some help. I keep getting the "fEE" error message on my camera and am trying to figure out if it's the camera, the lens, or me :smile: that is the issue. Let me start out by saying that I am a complete novice to dslr cameras having just gotten my first one last week, a used d610. It was a gift from my uncle who was no longer using it. He just had the camera in the shop to fix the auto-focus and had everything else checked out also. I purchased a used Nikon 50mm AF 1:1.8 D lens to use with it and it is when using this lens that I get the "fEE" message (my uncle also sent along a 70-300mm Sigma DG lens and I do not get the fEE error when using this lens.)
I have set the minimum aperture and locked it on the 50mm lens when using it. When I turn the camera to manual and try to use the lens that way, I still get the error message.
Sometimes if I fiddle with the settings on the camera, or on the lens, it will fix itself, today it did not and wouldn't let me shoot until I finally cleaned a bit around the connections on the lens and camera, now it is working again. Yesterday I started getting the error message and after flipping through all the menu options, but not changing anything, it fixed itself.