Battery Grip Advantages?

Swame_spSwame_sp Posts: 58Member
edited December 2012 in Nikon DSLR cameras
Hey friendly forum members...

Happy New Year wishes!!!

I have D7000 and been having immense fun with it. I'm venturing into other areas of photography that I have never tried before like product photography and night photography...etc

I saw my friend using a batter grip on his canon 5D m2. I was wondering how many of you use it all the time. Apart from the comfort to the hands and easy portrait mode, what are the advantages that you have? Looking to see if should even buy one. Is worth the buck?

Thanks!!

Comments

• JJ_SOJJ_SO Posts: 1,158Member
    I can hold the camera steadier, even in landscape mode. Other side is, it is an additional factor of lack of stability when using a tripod. Although the genuine Nikon grips are made of metal, the camera seems to move a bit more when mounted on a tripod and mirror pre-release was forgotten or not possible.

The additional function elements are a also a big help for me.
  • RatatoskrRatatoskr Posts: 32Member
    edited December 2012
    I don't know any other than my MB-D12 Battery Pack (except for my old FE2) so can only comment on it.

It's not made of metal but instead it's made of polycarbonate.

The advantages are of course, among other, portrait holding and more steady handling of the camera.
    In my case there is NO disadvantage when using a monopod/tripod. I always mount my mono/tripod directly on the lens.