On the fence about a move to D4 from D7000

ALThomasALThomas Posts: 6Member
edited August 2013 in Nikon DSLR cameras
Hey all. Been watching Nikon Rumors like a hawk for the past month hoping to see some kind of announcement of the rumored d4x. But lately I have been dipping a bit into the forums and today I thought maybe the experts could give me a bit of advice and help get me off this fence I'm sitting on.

I'm a sports photographer for a number of small town newspapers, its more of a hobby and not my full time job. Over the years I have slowly built up my collection of photo gear and I'm currently carrying a d7000, 70-200mm 2.8 VRII, and 24-70mm 2.8G ED. I'm working almost entirely in low/poorly/oddly lit gyms aside from a few football games and none of the indoors allow flash photography. The following link has a few of my better photos (unedited with EXIF data but in JPEG format) from the previous school year: http://www.flickr.com/photos/62282623@N07/

I have been seriously considering an upgrade to the d4 because all of the wonderful things I hear about its low-light and action prowess. I guess I'm trying to get a feel for how much more the d4 could do in place of my d7000. Currently, I'm probably standing at around 30-40% of shots getting tossed thanks to poor focus and then maybe 10-20% of the remainder having 'perfect' focus. My d7000's AF seems to have problems tracking subjects during bursts as well. I'll rarely push the camera above 3200 ISO, preferring a step or two lower which keeps me around 1/250 in the shutter speed.

Thanks to anyone that can impart any worldly advice.
Post edited by ALThomas on

Comments

• ElvisheferElvishefer Posts: 329Member
    DX -> FX -> lose some reach on the lenses you have, but the lenses you have will still be excellent.

As for the D4, it is the pro sport shooter camera of choice and should blow your D7000 out of the water in terms of performance.