Need Opinions

sumlybumlysumlybumly Posts: 4Member
edited September 2013 in D6x0/D7x0/D8x0
Please read this and throw any advice or opinions my way, I'd greatly appreciate it.

So I recently switched platforms, kind of. (I'm not a professional)

I shot Canon for 5 years (5D, 7D, 5DII) then sold all my gear and bought a D700 and a 50 1.8 and had that for 1 month then sold that and bought a point and shoot (RX100). Why did I do that? I'm not even sure, probably the dumbest thing I've ever done.

Now I wanna go back to Nikon again but not sure if I wanna get the D700 again or the D800, note that I don't have any Nikon gear whatsoever, and I don't wanna go back to Canon. The main reason why I don't want the D800 is because of the file sizes, (don't have the room on my computer and don't wanna get external HD's call me lazy if you'd like.) Plus I don't think I absolutely need 36mp. I like to shoot landscape, portraits, and cars. My budget is $7k and that will include lenses. As dumb as it sounds, I don't wanna go back to Canon because I prefer the round eyecup (Nikon), I know you can get it for Canon but it's not the same for me. I also like the ergonomics on Nikon. I might only get this chance once because my father is giving me the money for the gear so I don't want to regret what I buy. I want something new that I can start fresh with, one reason being why I'm not sure about the D700 but it looks like there's really not too many other options.

Comments

• snakebunksnakebunk Posts: 993Member
    A used D700 and money to spend on great lenses sounds like a good idea. If you don't want the resolution of the D800 I can't see a reason to buy it. I have not used any of the cameras though.
  • donaldejosedonaldejose Posts: 3,675Member
    Wait a month or two. Perhaps the D610 will be out and may be your best option.
  • PhotobugPhotobug Posts: 5,751Member
    I love spending people's money, here are my suggestions.