Making Money ( from Photography)

Comments

• SymphoticSymphotic Posts: 711Member
    I just got a gig doing a technical documentation at a nuclear power plant in Canada. I much prefer taking pictures of things over people: I don't think I have the skill set required to do weddings.
    Jack Roberts
    "Discovery consists in seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what nobody else has thought"--Albert Szent-Gyorgy
  • PhotophunPhotophun Posts: 43Member
    I am new to photography and am trying to break into the portrait circuit, make a name for my self, and learn at the same time. I don't believe in charging clients to learn on their dime and would love to be paid for my expenses at the very least while I am doing all this. I offer 720P long edge photos online for free and print copies can be arranged.

One thing that chaps my hide is when established or other struggling photographers give me harsh words for offering a cheap to free option. Well this is the new reality of the market place. If those clients don't want to pay then either you didn't offer them what they were looking for, getting the shot is not time sensitive, or they are just plain cheap. I don't see the established photographers welcoming new people, showing them how to use their gear, providing models, and letting them experiment.

For me this is a great way to learn about marketing, shooting on location, learn from my mistakes, and make new friends. Soon enough I will move on to Commercial and Weddings but for now its time to play in the bottom of the barrel. The competition is fierce out there and there is no shortage of new blood at the starting line.
  • proudgeekproudgeek Posts: 1,422Member