Nikon Df General Discussion

Comments

• donaldejosedonaldejose Posts: 3,706Member
    I do hope the Df will be just the first in a line of bodies with that "retro" user interface for those who like it. As for myself, I will stick to the modern well-honed ergonomic design.
  • WestEndBoyWestEndBoy Posts: 1,456Member
    I do hope the Df will be just the first in a line of bodies with that "retro" user interface for those who like it. As for myself, I will stick to the modern well-honed ergonomic design.
    It is a well honed design for sure. If I was a professional, a DF would not be of interest to me.

Nikon did not include a second card slot with the DF. It seems Nikon sees it that way too.
  • FritzFritz Posts: 140Member
    Perhaps there is a case to be made for a purely recreational camera in this discussion. I presently own a D4 and I have owned a D800 and both are high performance cameras purpose superb for their specific applications. But I've got to say that there are times when humping a D4 is just a pain in the neck; I mean the camera is bulky and heavy and so when I'm not working I leave it at home when I really should carry it. So what's wrong with a second camera that's just plain fun to shoot? Over the years there have been lots of cameras that I've respected but only two that I really loved, namely an F3 and a D700 because for me they were both plain fun. I had the chance yesterday to handle and shoot a DF with the Sigma 35 1.4 Art lens on it and I really had fun. Sure, its a bit gimmicky, but its small and light and points and handles well and the controls for me were intuitive and certainly the camera is capable of first class imagery. So other than the price what's not to like? And how do you price fun- I mean isn't value a subjective thing?
    edited March 2014
    Fritz: Sure, but wouldn't a D610 with a Sigma 35 f1.4 Art lens have been just as light and just as much fun without the gimmicky controls? And at a much lower price?