D7100

Comments

• adsads Posts: 93Member
    Even jpgs straight out of the camera have banding, no editing involved. With Raw if I even look at the shadow control the shot is instantly unusable, same for ADL in camera. Its most noticeable in shadows, but I even get lines running through bright foliage and animal fur.

I regularly print poster size and I'm getting maybe 3/10 shots I can use at that size compared to probably 99/100 from my budget D5100 - I basically delete almost everything I shot for the day which is pretty heartbreaking :-(

I'm a wildlife photographer so the extremely low rate if keepers is a deal breaker- I can't exactly ask a tiger to do a run for me again :-)

I tried exposure bracketing of static subjects to see if I can get a decent shot, but I either get blown unrecoverable highlights or banding shadows - its like the camera has zero DR. The only option is HDR, and that obviously isn't an option for wildlife shots.

This is the first time I have ever seen banding in one of my shots - I didn't even know what it was...
  • spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,545Moderator
    I suppose you have tried the ol' two button reset?
    Always learning.
    edited June 2013
    Yep tried resetting, playing with ADL settings, updated all my software (LR, PS, even tried the bundled ViewNX) in case it was software-related.

The only thing that worked was debanding in Nik Dfine. Just doesn't seem right that a A$1700 (don't get me started on Australian pricing...) camera would require Photoshop processing just to get a decent jpg - I must have got a dud.

Anyhow, I've returned it and its being checked out as we speak.

Thanks for the suggestion in any case...
    Post edited by ads on
    Yup - seems to be a bonafide duff body. Send it back.
    Always learning.
    Yeah just hope I end up with a good one, because I love shooting with it
  • DaveyJDaveyJ Posts: 1,090Member