Looking for some advice re monopods and quick release plates

turnthedarncranksturnthedarncranks Posts: 116Member
edited February 2013 in General Discussions
Long time lurker, first time poster. Maybe I've not been using the search feature effectively, but I can't find any threads that recommend specific monopods. I'm a rank amateur, reading a lot trying to get better. One thing I've concluded is that I need better support when I am out and about. I have a low-level tripod that gets the job done when I have time to use it, but considering that I am usually trying to squeeze in photos without annoying my family too much, I think I need to get a monopod. But I don't have a ton to spend. So with that background, any recommendations? On a related note, I've seen a lot of discussion of quick mounts for mono- and tri-pods, but when I Google the recommended products, they tend to be quite pricey. Any recommendations for quick release on a budget?

Thanks!
Post edited by turnthedarncranks on

Comments

• PB_PMPB_PM Posts: 4,494Member
    Manfrotto makes some nice monopods that don't cost an arm and a leg ($54-$90). I'm not sure what to recommend, since you haven't mentioned what gear you'll be using with it. If you need an inexpensive head for a monopod, Manfrotto also makes a head just for use with monopods (Manfrotto - 234RC).
    If I take a good photo it's not my camera's fault.
  • turnthedarncranksturnthedarncranks Posts: 116Member
    edited February 2013
    Thanks. I should've mentioned that I shoot with a D7000. Nothing special -- or more to the point, nothing huge -- on the lens front -- I have two kit lenses (the 18-105 and 55-300) and the 35mm 1.8.

Thanks again!
    Post edited by turnthedarncranks on
  • dissentdissent Posts: 1,329Member
    edited February 2013
    I like my Induro CM25. Supposed to support up to 22 lbs., which is a lot more than I'll be putting on it anytime soon. (see my sig) Light and easy to handle.
    Post edited by dissent on