Why switch to "Z" system?

I have been using Nikon DSLR's for 20 years. My current gear includes D850, D750, & D750 (IR converted), cameras. What would I gain (or lose) by changing to the new NIKON mirror less cameras . I DO know that they are lighter. However, I never did like an electronic view finder and have had a few NIKON low end DX cameras that had them. So, please tell me why I should or should not switch. Another reason I am typing this is because NIKON rumors is SATURATED with "Z" discussions and not much about the DSLR cameras any more. Please enlighten me!
Gordon

Comments

• SymphoticSymphotic Posts: 711Member
    Switch for the size, stay for the glass.
    Jack Roberts
    "Discovery consists in seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what nobody else has thought"--Albert Szent-Gyorgy
  • PB_PMPB_PM Posts: 4,494Member
    edited September 2019
    Unless there is something wrong with the gear you have now, there is no reason whatsoever to switch. You don't get better AF (it's actually worse for subject tracking), or more megapixels than what you have now. Seems kind of pointless for a generation or two when Nikon finally gets all the bugs worked out and has better sensors and A/D conversion.

The forum is full of talk beacuse they Z stuff is the latest and greatest gear on a spec sheet. Beyond that they are nothing special. The next generation will hopefully offer something worth while for current high end DSLR users.
    Post edited by PB_PM on
    If I take a good photo it's not my camera's fault.
  • WestEndFotoWestEndFoto Posts: 3,742Member
    PB_PM said:

Unless there is something wrong with the gear you have now, there is no reason whatsoever to switch. You don't get better AF (it's actually worse for subject tracking), or more megapixels than what you have now. Seems kind of pointless for a generation or two when Nikon finally gets all the bugs worked out and has better sensors and A/D conversion.